Notes and Articles for Law students

User Tools

Site Tools


Supreme Court of India

The Supreme Court of India is the highest judicial forum and final court of appeal under the Constitution of India, the highest constitutional court, with the power of constitutional review.Supreme court emblem Consisting of the Chief Justice of India and 30 sanctioned other judges, it has extensive powers in the form of original, appellate and advisory jurisdictions.

Established 1 October 1937 (as Federal Court Of India) 28 January 1950 (as Supreme Court of India
Country India
Location Tilak Marg, New Delhi, Delhi
Motto यतो धर्मस्ततो जयः॥ (IAST: Yato Dharmastato Jayaḥ) Where there is truth (dharma), there is victory (justice)
Composition method Collegium System
Authorized by Constitution of India
Judge term length Mandatory retirement at 65 years of age
No. of positions 34(33+1) (Sanctioned strength) 34(33+1) (Present strength)

Chief Justice Of India
CurrentlyRanjan Gogi
Since 3 October 2018
Lead position ends17 November 2019

As the final court of appeal of the country, it takes up appeals primarily against verdicts of the high courts of various states of the Union and other courts and tribunals. It safeguards fundamental rights of citizens and settles disputes between various governments in the country. As an advisory court, it hears matters which may specifically be referred to it under the constitution by the President of India. It also may take cognisance of matters on its own (or suo moto), without anyone drawing its attention to them. The law declared by the supreme court becomes binding on all courts within India and also by the union and state governments.As per Article 142, it is the duty of the president to enforce the decrees of the supreme court.

Navigation: Home»General Notes